Walker Law

MICHAEL K. WALKER, ESQ.

341 HARRISON STREET

NASHVILLE, TN 37219

(615) 485-3065 or (931) 292-2889

Nashville and Middle Tennessee Divorce and Criminal Defense Lawyer serving the Middle Tennessee area with affordable legal services. Our fees for services are very reasonable and the full amount is not due at the beginning. We are willing to work with our clients by providing a payment plan throughout the case as the fees become necessary.

 
Tennessee's statutory DUI punishments

Here's what penalties you can expect to face if you are charged and convicted of DUI  

First Tennessee DUI Offense

 

Jail – 48 Hours up to 11 Months
Fine – From $350 to $1,500

License Suspension – 1 Year
Ignition Interlock Device Possible

Other Possible Penalties

Community Service Work for Three Eight Hour Shifts
Child Endangerment Penalties (If Passenger under 18)
Alcohol Safety DUI School Program

 

 

Second Tennessee DUI Offense

 

Jail – 45 Days up to 1 Year
Fine – From $600 to $3,500

License Suspension – 2 Years
Ignition Interlock Device – 6 Months (If Within 5 Years of Previous DUI )

Other Possible Penalties

Vehicle – Subject to Seizure / Forfeiture
Child Endangerment Penalties (If Passenger Under 18)
Litter Pick-Up For Three Eight-Hour Shifts
Drug and Treatment Assessment

 

Third Tennessee DUI Offense

 

Jail – 120 Days up to 1 Year
Fine – From $1,100 to $10,000

License Suspension – From 3 to 10 Years
Ignition Interlock Device

Other Possible Penalties

Vehicle – Subject to Seizure / Forfeiture
Child Endangerment Penalties (If Passenger Under 18)
Litter Pick-Up for Three Eight-Hour Shifts
Drug and Treatment Assessment
Alcohol Safety DUI School Program


New law as of January 1, 2011 
 
     A person who drives a vehicle without a functioning ignition interlock device installed on such vehicle on a public road at a time when the person was required by law to drive a vehicle equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device commits a Class B misdemeanor and shall serve time in jail for at least 7 days up to 6 months, and may be fined up to $1,000.

see T.C.A. 55-50-504 for a detailed reading of this law.

1 comment | Add a New Comment
1. ADMIN | August 10, 2011 at 05:42 PM EDT

Reckless driving carries the standard Class B misdemeanor punishment of a fine of up to $500 and a jail sentence of up to six months. Unlike DUI convictions though, the jail term in reckless driving is not mandatory and most offenders will never serve jail time. Your insurance rates may increase for around three years, and you will not be getting any delivery jobs in the near future. Other than that though, it is unlikely any significant harm to your lifestyle will be felt after you have paid off your fine (around $250.00), 6 months suspended sentence and/or 6 months probation, and perhaps community service work.

Add a New Comment

(Enter the numbers shown in the above image)

Nashville Divorce Lawyer, Nashville Criminal Lawyer, Nashville Personal Injury Lawyer serving Davidson County-Nashville, Bedford County-Shelbyville, Cannon County-Woodbury, Cheatham County-Ashland City, Coffee County-Manchester, Dekalb County-Smithville, Dickson County-Dickson, Giles County-Pulaski, Hickman County-Centerville, Humphreys County-Waverly, Lawrence County-Lawrenceburg, Lewis County-Hohenwald, Marshall County-Lewisburg, Maury County-Columbia, Montgomery County-Clarksville, Robertson County-Springfield, Rutherford County-Murfreesboro, Stewart County-Dover, Sumner County-Gallatin, Warren County-McMinnville, Williamson County-Franklin, and Wilson County-Lebanon.