Walker Law

MICHAEL K. WALKER, ESQ.

341 HARRISON STREET

NASHVILLE, TN 37219

(615) 485-3065 or (931) 292-2889

Nashville and Middle Tennessee Divorce and Criminal Defense Lawyer serving the Middle Tennessee area with affordable legal services. Our fees for services are very reasonable and the full amount is not due at the beginning. We are willing to work with our clients by providing a payment plan throughout the case as the fees become necessary.

 
Driving on Cancelled, Suspended, or Revoked License in Tennessee

Driving on a cancelled, suspended, or revoked license under Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-50-501 is a serious offense that can involve jail time, expensive fines, and can prolong the reinstatement of your driving privileges. Driving is the basis of most everyones livelihood and should be taken seriously. There are several avenues an attorney may take in handling this charge in court. It is highly recommended that anyone facing this charge, especially a suspension due to a DUI conviction contact an attorney before your scheduled court case.


A person who drives a motor vehicle on a public road when the person's privilege to do so is cancelled, suspended, or revoked commits a Class B misdemeanor. If a person's privilege to drive is cancelled, suspended or revoked because of a conviction for vehicular assault, vehicular homicide, or DUI they can be put in jail for at least 2 days but not more than 6 months, and there may be imposed, in addition, a fine of up to $1,000. Any convictions within 10 years prior to the immediate violation can be considered for enhancement purposes.


A second or subsequent violation of subdivision is a Class A misdemeanor. A second or subsequent conviction of driving on suspended, revoked, or cancelled license because of a conviction of vehicular assault, vehicular homicide, or DUI shall serve at least 45 days and up to 1 year in jail and may be fined up to $3,000.

A vehicle is subject to seizure and forfeiture upon the arrest or citation of a person for driving while the person's driving privileges are cancelled, suspended or revoked. A conviction for the criminal offense of driving while the person's driving privileges are cancelled, suspended or revoked is not required.

1 comment | Add a New Comment
1. Nicholas | February 10, 2014 at 07:41 AM EST

I was recently given a class c misdemeanor charge for driving on a suspended license. It was suspended for failure to provide proof of insurance (I had insurance 3 months after the incident, but was not aware proof was still required) My license was suspended, so I immediately paid the reinstatement fee, however I once again was not aware I needed to acquire an entire new license card. 2 years goes by, and I was pulled over for that exact reason. I was not taken to jail, but was given a court date. I have no prior convictions at all as my record is clean. This was all really a strong misunderstanding on my part. Everything would have been taken care of had I known what was specifically needed of me. My question is: Whats the average outcome of my current situation in court? Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Add a New Comment

(Enter the numbers shown in the above image)

Nashville Divorce Lawyer, Nashville Criminal Lawyer, Nashville Personal Injury Lawyer serving Davidson County-Nashville, Bedford County-Shelbyville, Cannon County-Woodbury, Cheatham County-Ashland City, Coffee County-Manchester, Dekalb County-Smithville, Dickson County-Dickson, Giles County-Pulaski, Hickman County-Centerville, Humphreys County-Waverly, Lawrence County-Lawrenceburg, Lewis County-Hohenwald, Marshall County-Lewisburg, Maury County-Columbia, Montgomery County-Clarksville, Robertson County-Springfield, Rutherford County-Murfreesboro, Stewart County-Dover, Sumner County-Gallatin, Warren County-McMinnville, Williamson County-Franklin, and Wilson County-Lebanon.